Austria
Friday, April 18, 2014

The Iranian Don Corleone

The threats of the Iranian Foreign Minister, Salehi, against opponents of the regime demand a reaction from Austrian foreign policy.
 
By Simone Dinah Hartmann

Published in the print edition of the Austrian daily "Wiener Zeitung", 5th March 2013
 
One could almost think that it is Don Vito Corleone from Francis Ford Coppola's The Godfather speaking, but it was the Iranian Foreign Minister, Ali Akbar Salehi. Addressing critics of the regime, such as the STOP THE BOMB coalition, who, on the occasion of his repeat visit to Vienna, demanded that the EU states finally follow the example of Canada and break off diplomatic relations with Teheran, he remarked, quite Mafia-like, in an interview with the Wiener Zeitung that "these groups" should "always exercise caution and wisdom" in their decision-making. Otherwise "one could end up in problem situations ..... My advice to these groups is ... to be a little more rational and careful."
 
The statements made by Salehi demonstrate once again that there can be no dialogue with  representatives of the dictatorship of the Ayatollahs and the Revolutionary Guards, who are responsible for the murder of tens of thousands of the Iranian opposition and who have also carried out numerous assassinations in European countries. One must try to ensure, as soon as possible, that they no longer have the opportunity to put into practice their murderous ideology, and that this regime, whose nuclear program poses a massive danger to the West, the Iranian population and the countries of the region and which is an existential threat to Israel, is finally toppled.
 
But in such a case why don't journalists ask, what then does Salehi mean exactly when he publicly informs the opponents of the regime that they should be "careful"? And why doesn't the Austrian Foreign Minister, Michael Spindelegger, whom Salehi met for talks in Vienna, feel obliged to make a statement when the top Iranian diplomat uses his visit to present Austrian citizens with the prospect of getting into "problem situations"?
 
There are, however, people in Austria who do set a good example: the Professor of Iranian Studies and President of the Austrian Oriental Society, Bert Fragner, declared last week, following an intervention by STOP THE BOMB against a previously announced cooperation with the representatives of the Iranian Holocaust denial regime: "We are cancelling any cooperation whatsoever with the Iranian official bodies in Vienna." Now, according to Salehi, the Professor probably too must "take care" and reckon on getting into "problem situations". It remains to be seen how Austrian politics will respond.
 
Just two weeks ago two employees of the Iranian embassy in Madrid were arrested by the police because they had systematically spied upon and threatened Iranian asylum seekers in Spain. For years there have been similar accusations against the Embassy in Vienna and its Cultural Department, which Iranian opponents refer to as merely "a nest of spies". A suitable reaction to the current threats by Salehi would be to finally close the Embassy of the Iranian regime.

Simone Dinah Hartmann is the spokesperson of the European Coalition STOP THE BOMB

Subscribe to our Email Newsletter:

Donations needed!

In order to continue our activities we are in need of donations!

Our account:
Beneficiary: Liga fuer Aufklaerung und Freiheit
Payment reference: Stop the Bomb
BANK: Erste Bank
IBAN: AT752011128939040700
BIC: GIBAATWW

Österreich
Freitag, 20. Oktober 2017

Der iranische Don Corleone

Die Drohungen des iranischen Außenministers Salehi gegen Gegner des Regimes erfordern eine Reaktion der österreichischen Außenpolitik

Von Simone Dinah Hartmann

In redaktioneller Bearbeitung erschienen in der Printausgabe der “Wiener Zeitung“, 5. März 2013

Man könnte denken, es spricht Don Vito Corleone aus Francis Ford Coppolas „Der Pate“, doch es war der iranische Außenminister Ali Akbar Salehi: Angesprochen auf Kritiker des Regimes, die wie das Bündnis STOP THE BOMB anlässlich seines erneuten Wien-Besuches forderten, dass die EU-Staaten endlich dem Beispiel Kanadas folgen und die diplomatischen Beziehungen mit Teheran abbrechen, ließ er im Gespräch mit der Wiener Zeitung ganz in Mafia-Manier ausrichten, „diese Gruppen“ sollten bei ihren „Entscheidungen immer Vorsicht und Weisheit walten lassen.“ Sonst gerate „man in Problemsituationen. … Mein Rat an diese Gruppen ist … etwas rationaler und vorsichtiger zu sein.”

Die Äußerungen Salehis zeigen abermals, dass man mit Vertretern der Diktatur der Ajatollahs und Revolutionswächter, die für die Ermordung von zehntausenden iranischen Oppositionellen verantwortlich sind und auch zahlreiche Attentate in europäischen Ländern durchgeführt haben, keinen Dialog führen kann. Man muss versuchen dazu beizutragen, dass sie so bald wie möglich nicht mehr die Gelegenheit haben, ihre mörderische Ideologie weiter in die Tat umzusetzen, und dass dieses Regime, dessen Atomprogramm eine massive Gefahr für den Westen, die iranische Bevölkerung und die Staaten der Region ist und eine existenzielle Bedrohung für Israel darstellt, endlich gestürzt wird.

Warum aber fragen Journalisten in solch einem Fall nicht nach, was Salehi denn genau meint, wenn er Regimegegnern öffentlich ausrichtet, sie sollten „vorsichtig“ sein? Und warum fühlt sich Außenminister Spindelegger, den Salehi in Wien zu Gesprächen getroffen hat, zu keinem Statement veranlasst, wenn der iranische Chefdiplomat seinen Besuch dazu nutzt, österreichischen Staatsbürgern in Aussicht zu stellen, sie könnten „in Problemsituationen“ geraten?

Es gibt aber auch in Österreich Menschen, die mit gutem Beispiel vorangehen: Der Iranistik-Professor und Präsident der Österreichischen Orient-Gesellschaft Bert Fragner erklärte letzte Woche nach einer Intervention von STOP THE BOMB gegen eine zuvor öffentlich angekündigte Kooperation mit den Repräsentanten des iranischen Holocaustleugner-Regimes: „Wir stornieren jegliche Zusammenarbeit mit den iranischen offiziellen Stellen in Wien.” Wenn es nach Salehi geht, muss nun wohl auch der Professor „Vorsicht walten lassen“ und damit rechnen, in „Problemsituationen“ zu geraten. Es fragt sich, was die österreichische Politik dagegen unternehmen wird.

Erst vor zwei Wochen wurden zwei Mitarbeiter der iranischen Botschaft in Madrid von der Polizei verhaftet, weil sie iranische Asylbewerber in Spanien systematisch ausspioniert und bedroht hatten. Gegen die Botschaft in Wien und gegen ihre Kulturabteilung, von der iranische Oppositionelle nur als „Spionagenest“ sprechen, gibt es seit Jahren ganz ähnliche Vorwürfe. Eine adäquate Reaktion auf die aktuellen Drohungen Salehis wäre es, die Botschaft des iranischen Regimes endlich zu schließen.

Simone Dinah Hartmann ist Sprecherin des Bündnisses STOP THE BOMB und Mitherausgeberin von „Iran im Weltsystem. Bündnisse des Regimes und Perspektiven der Freiheitsbewegung“ (Studienverlag 2010).

Abonnieren Sie unseren
Email Newsletter:

Wir benötigen Spenden!

Um unsere Aktivitäten fortsetzen zu können, sind wir dringend auf Spenden angewiesen!

Unsere Kontoverbindung:
Empfänger: MEDEA
Zahlungszweck: Stop the Bomb
BANK: Erste Bank
IBAN: AT752011128939040700
BIC: GIBAATWW